Monday, May 9, 2011

Rancho San Diego Amateur Championship Results

Rancho San Diego Amateur Championship Results

Jamul, CA—The Golf Channel Amateur Tour visited the Canyon and Ranch courses at Steele Canyon Golf Club for the 9th consecutive year on Sunday.   Steele Canyon was in excellent condition, with its greens being in arguably the best shape in the 9-year history of the event. 

In what would turn out to be a two-man race to the finish, 40-year old Derrick Farino of Poway would end up 1-stroke better than Tom Isaak of San Diego on Sunday.  Farino, who carded four birdies on the day, would claim his first Tour victory since March of 2010 with a good round of even-par 71.  Isaak, who is certainly the front-runner for Southern California Player of the Year honors, would end up in 2nd place with a 1-over par 72.  Adrian Reyes of San Diego posted his best finish of the year, finishing in 3rd place with a 76. 

22-year old Ryan Clem of El Cajon, playing on his home course, was out early and posted a great round of 4-over par 75 to be the leader in the clubhouse.  Group by group in the Palmer Flight came in, none coming within 3 strokes of Clem.  Then came along 64-year old Art Harris of La Mesa.  Harris used a deft short game to post his Tour-best round of 74 to claim the first victory of his Tour career.  Harris carded three birdies on the day and proved that you don’t have to hit the ball a long way to compete or win on Tour.    Mitch Oda, the hottest player in the Palmer Flight over the past few months, tied for 3rd at 78 along with Glenn Burton of San Diego. 

63-year old Ted Collins, 27-year old Joshua Stout, and 32-year old Adam Kruger all were paired together in the first group of the day in the Hogan Flight.  Each player fired rounds of 10-over par 81 and were collectively the clubhouse leaders for most of the day.  Anticipating a playoff, the players waited patiently for all the scorecards to come in.  Paul Kerr, playing in the last group of the day, posted an unbelievable round to grab the victory.  Kerr, who went out in 1-under par 35, posted a solid 40 on his back nine to fire the lowest personal round of his career (tournament or non-tournament round) to win the Hogan Flight.  Joining Collins, Stout, and Krueger was Yasuhiro Yoshimi in a tie for 2nd place. 

In the Sarazen Flight Dean Jacobs of Ramona won for the first time since the opening event of the year, posting a solid 85 to claim the victory by two strokes over a slew of competitors.  Bob McCall, Ted Hynes, and Terry Bodoin all tied for 2nd place at 87. 

Paul Hitchcock of La Mesa gained some momentum heading into the defense of his Jones Flight title next week at the South Bay Championship at San Diego Country Club.  Hitchcock smoked his tee shot on the opening hole and never looked back, carding a nice 87 to take the flight by two strokes over Jerry Maes.  Maes was the only other player in the flight to break into the 80’s, posting a nice 89 for second place. 

In the Snead Flight, Ashley Robertson keeps creeping up the leaderboard.  Robertson, who could not break 100 early in his Tour career, is improving at a nice pace and grabbed the clubhouse lead with a solid 93 on Sunday.  Joe Strong of Wildomar would ultimately win, using some very nice ball-striking to secure the win by three strokes at 90. 

The Tour returns to action on Monday, May 16 with the South Bay Championship at San Diego Country Club. 

Top Finishers and Payouts

For full-field scores and photos please see 


71-Derrick Farino ($125 and Trophy)
72-Tom Isaak ($100)

Palmer Flight

74-Art Harris ($200 and Trophy)
75-Ryan Clem ($100)
78-Mitch Oda ($50)
78-Glenn Burton ($50)
80-Daniel Walters ($25)
80-Kevin Stutts ($25)

Hogan Flight

75-Paul Kerr ($200 and Trophy)
81-Ted Collins ($75)
81-Joshua Stout ($75)
81-Adam Krueger ($75)
81-Yasuhiro Yoshimi ($75)

Sarazen Flight

85-Dean Jacobs ($175 and Trophy)
87-Terry Bodoin ($75)
87-Ted Hynes ($75)
87-Bob McCall ($75)

Jones Flight

87-Paul Hitchcock ($125 and Trophy)
89-Jerry Maes ($100)

Snead Flight

90-Joe Strong ($125 and Trophy)

Optional Skins Game Results

Group 1 (Championship & Palmer)

#1-David Barker ($30)
#3-Kristopher Brown ($30)
#6-Derrick Farino ($30)
#7-Art Harris ($30)
#8-Adrian Reyes ($30)
#11-Art Harris ($30)
#13-Derrick Farino ($30)
#15-Glenn Burton ($30)

Group 2 (Hogan & Sarazen)

#3-Tom Williams ($80)
#6-Paul Gale ($80)
#9-Jose Talamantes ($80)
#11-Edward Rodriguez ($80)
#12-Tom Williams ($80)
#18-Adam Krueger (Eagle, $80)

Group 3 (Jones & Snead)

#2-Jerry Maes ($40)
#3-Rimal Patel ($40)
#11-Randy Reid ($40)
#12-Deon Chen ($40)
#13-Paul Hitchcock ($40)

No comments:

Post a Comment